Reviews

What our readers are saying...

5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional and Gripping!August 22, 2014

By Turbulentbeauty 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

I really enjoy watching and reading physiological thriller's, but besides a few plot points, I'm rarely surprised by the end. Oliver Rixon's Broken Mirror is a rare exception in this genre, which made this book a special pleasure to read. His writing style is bold and evocative, with the perfect give and take needed to draw the reader into this gripping story. I've been an avid reader my whole life, so I'm not exaggerating when I say the prologue begins the story in one of the most shockingly dramatic ways I've probably ever read. You instantly feel concerned for Helen and her secret, plus repulsion and hatred for the mysterious man who stalked her. I hadn't heard there was a reincarnation theme before diving in, so that made the plot really unusual and interesting as I began to connect those pieces together about Jenny. While I won't reveal anymore to avoid spoiling the story, I do want to say I felt satisfied at the end. I'm probably going to re-read this soon so I can look for any details I may have not fully appreciated the first time. I highly recommend this book!


5.0 out of 5 stars Psychological Thriller? They got that right!!,August 21,

By Renee - See all my reviews

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

I actually borrowed this book first, but once I got started I knew I had to have it!! This book sucks you in from page 1 and never lets you go! The complexity of the characters and the great writing help it feel so real and makes you feel like you are a part of the book. Good vs Evil (actually the whole psychological thriller genre) is taken to a whole other level with this book.

Oliver Rixon has crafted such an amazing version of a thriller that keeps you guessing the whole book. You feel for and understand the "heroine" and even his villain was more than just your typical bad guy. Each character is so beautifully written you are invested in them. Even the side characters (sometimes a throwaway with other authors) are perfectly done; you care about what happens to them and what they are doing, but not so much so that it distracts you from the main characters and story. He also has added in a twist that really takes the story to the next level!

Murder, lost love, reincarnation, and so much more! If you like thrillers, you will LOVE this book! Honestly, if you love reading, you will love this book. It is just that good. I can't wait to see what he comes out with next!


5.0 out of 5 stars psych thriller,August 21, 2014

By Teah Mist "Teah"

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller by Oliver Rixon was a truly entertaining book. The whole book was filled with plot twists that keep you guessing. I have always enjoyed psychological thrillers, so I was not surprised to find myself enjoying this book what did surprise me was that I got so pulled in that I finished the whole book in one day. Oliver Rixon did a great job with his characters he made the twisted killer Reverend Lucas Wheelan seem so real. Jenny Barrett was well written in how she has been reincarnated and how she is struggling with her past life as well as with her new life as Jenny. I don't want to give too much of the book away so I won't go into more details, but I loved this book.


5.0 out of 5 stars Good story, August 19, 2014

By Dora 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

I never really knew what to expect from “a psychological killer” since I have never read one before. My first impression was that it is just another murder story. One thing I can tell you for sure that “Broken Mirror” is no ordinary thriller. From the first page I was totally glued to book. The writer is very descriptive and that’s what makes the story so interesting. The interaction between the characters is captivating. It was easy for me to follow the story and crave more from the book. A good story is one with an unexpected twist at the end, thus without a doubt “Broken Mirror” is indeed a good story.


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally recommended!, August 19, 2014

By Meiling C. 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

I originally bought this book because my professor has told me that I should try searching for more psychological thrillers on Amazon and I "bumped" into Broken Mirrors. I was a little hesitant at first because I get a little skeptical buying new books (don't ask why). I can tell you one thing, I do not regret it! It's such a great, intriguing book. It had me on the edge of my seat waiting to see what happens next! The characters are believable and the story is very well written and thought out. Broken Mirror is one of the best thriller books I've read; I plan on referring the ladies and gents in my book club to this one! I just cannot put it down!

P.S: This would be a good idea for a thriller movie.


5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked from start to finish, August 18, 2014

By ryan c 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

I'm a huge fan of psychological thrillers and this is definitely one of my favorites. I was hooked from start to finish and couldn't wait to see what happened at the end. This is not your typical psychological thriller, it covers many other aspects. Being a medical student, I especially liked the medical drama that the author incorporated. Amazing story, a definite must read!


5.0 out of 5 stars Much More Than A Phychological Thriller, August 17,

By Amorous 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

There is no doubt that this is an intense psychological thriller. It’s not your average murder mystery, as well thought out and strong character development of both the protagonist and antagonist leaves the reader on edge by their complexity. Broken Mirror deals with karma, fate and moral crisis. The descriptive details and sometimes inclement dialogue by the characters allows the reader to feel the realism of the story and get lost in the thrill ride. Author, Oliver Rixon, saves the last chapter of this book to give us a much larger message. Without giving much more away, if you are into the metaphysical, then you will definitely get your dose with this book.


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Read!, August 16, 2014

By Stephanie Needleson "Steph" (Bucktown, NJ) 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

Psychological thrillers are an interesting breed when it comes to books. They’re supposed to focus on the emotional state of the characters and bring the reader into the darkest, deepest depths of a character’s psyche. I felt like the author really did this through vivid imagery and by showing how the characters felt through actions and verbal communication. The author weaved a nice tale that was easy for the reader to follow and the characters were likeable.

Despite not having gone through a rough breakup or divorce myself, I was easily able to empathize with the main character from the beginning. The bad guy in the story threw me for a loop by the end, but I must say I liked it. The side characters were developed enough that I felt for them when something happened, but they didn’t take away the spotlight from the main story.

Overall, a very good read and well worth the money spent.


5.0 out of 5 stars An Unpredictably Amazing Read!, August 16, 2014

By Cinnamon B. "Cinnamon B. " (New York City) 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

This book was absolutely amazing! I had no idea that a psychological thriller could be created cleanly without what usually is known in thrillers. The author was very descriptive throughout the book, that I honestly felt like I was an additional character peering down and watching the storyline unfold, as if it were a movie. Through these descriptions, the words brought life into the book. Two characters’ paths crossing at just the perfect time allowed every prior detail to fall into proper place. There were humorous moments that had me laughing, while others that left me in complete wonder. No way of ever knowing, as this was a true unpredictable read. I’m looking forward to reading the sequel, as I believe there is so much more the author can share. Overall, I truly enjoyed this book and 5 stars were well deserved. You can’t go wrong with buying this book.


5.0 out of 5 stars A Sensational Read, August 16, 2014

By Daniel Vision 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

This book was just sensational!

I wasn't expecting it to be so well written but it has definitely been one of the best books I've read all year. The plot twist in the beginning had me hooked and the more I read the more the story just kept pulling me in. I got to say I’m looking forward to the sequel. If you’re a fan of thrillers make sure you don’t pass this one up.


5.0 out of 5 stars Kept my on my feet!, August 15, 2014

By Shelly

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

This book kept me on my feet while i was reading it. It was very engaging and not one of those typical psychological thrillers that you read with similar plots. It was a very unique and different book with plot twists where you don't expect them! I could never guess what would hapen next and Oliver Rixon did a very good job at grabbing the reader's attention!


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Captivating!, August 15, 2014

By Michelle 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

Very interesting and engaging storywriting by Oliver Rixon! The whole story was very well written and hard to put down! It was a very unique story with a great twist in the plot with descriptions that make your hairs stand up! The murder victim being resurrected and reincarnated kept me on edge and the story was very captivating and engaging!


5.0 out of 5 stars Intense and unpredictable!, August 15, 2014

By Stacy Litz 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

I could not stop reading this -- took it to the beach with me and I got burned sitting out and reading it until completion! I love psychological thrillers and I feel like I have watched just about everyone in movie form. My favorite character has to be Wheelan who is very maticulous and yet you cannot read him at all. I hope to read more from this author as I love the writing style as well. I also love that this book is not all 100% "reality" and there is a reincarnated murder victim as one of the main characters. Sometimes you need to use a little imagination. Two thumbs up and like I said, I hope to read more from this author!


5.0 out of 5 stars A "biting your nails" type of thriller!, August 15, 2014

By Booklover (Indiana) 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

I WAS on the edge of my seat every turn of the page. What would happen if your murder victim comes back to seek out revenge for their death. That's exactly what Reverand Lucas is dealt with, when the past is definitely NOT forgotten. This is a gripping tale that left me hanging on until the very end. I could not wait to find out the outcome, yet, I did not want it to end. It was so good with all the twists and turns that he is dealt with. I am definitely anxious to read more by Oliver Rixon. He has a way of keeping an audience captivated until the conclusion...much like what Stephen King does!! I loved it!


5.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing, mysterious, must read book!, August 14,

By Andrew James 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

Broken Mirror is a thrilling book that left me on the edge of my seat the entire time. It contains such an intense plot, with a lot of fascinating character development that left me eagerly turning the pages wanting to know more. The characters seemed so real to me, and I found it incredibly interesting that the killer was not your typical murderer. A must read for everyone. I highly recommend this and I am hoping that there will be a sequel.


4.0 out of 5 stars Vivid imagery, detailed storytelling, August 9, 2014

By Jennifer (MO, United States)

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

Review by Lily: Amazing storytelling that had me on the edge of my seat. Well, my bed since that's were I do most of my reading. I just could not put this down! I was up all night reading this till the end. Thankfully I was not scheduled to work the next day! Just wonderful imagery and vivid descriptions are still in my mind. I might sleep with a light on tonight.


4.0 out of 5 stars Murder and a web of lives, July 31, 2014

By Katie salers

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

This book starts out grabbing your attention and this is only the prologue! It slows down a bit after that but then picks back up again. I was always trying to figure out how the people were connected. This web of people, tangle and mingle and it was fun trying to guess who they were and the roles they play in each others existence. There is murder, lies and enlightenment. I really enjoyed it. This book is definitely pg-13 and there were a few errors. However, this did not hinder my overall enjoyment of this book!


5.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing story, July 31, 2014

By Tammy 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

Broken Mirror is a gripping and refreshing story with two very interesting key characters. The story leaves you breathless at times as the drama increases. I couldn’t put it down. The killer seems more like a real murderer would be. He’s complex and has more depth to his character. He’s not your average cold, bloodthirsty stereotypical killer. The other character is Jenny, a nurse and I loved the hospital drama and her love interest with a surgeon in the book. She also seemed like a real person and I found myself genuinely wanting things to work out for her. But there is an intriguing twist at the end – I won’t spoil it for you but it totally took me by surprise. This book is very different, completely absorbing and definitely worth a read. I will be looking out for Oliver Rixon’s future books – I hope there’s a sequel.


5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this story., July 30, 2014

By Cynthia Red (New York)

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

In this psychological thriller Reverend Lucas Wheelan is a killer and one of his murder victims was Helen. Helen reincarnates as Jenny, intense care nurse, in order to seek revenge. While reading the story I was always curious about what will happen next and the author never disappointed me with excellent unexpected twist. I really enjoyed this story and can definitely recommend it.


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, July 30, 2014

By Andrii 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

I really liked the characters, the twists and the authors writing style in this story. While reading this story I could clearly see a mental movie in my imagination about Rverend Lucas Wheelan and Helen who after her death reincarnated as Jenny, This story captivated my attention from the first pages and I really enjoyed reading it. Excellent book!


5.0 out of 5 stars I am a definite fan, July 29, 2014

By zerocool5878 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

I picked this out to read over the weekend but I had a bit of free time and could not put it down. The author was able to really draw me in. The story was great, suspenseful, as well as brilliantly told. I would recommend grabbing this one and see for yourself.


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling across dimensions, July 28, 2014

By Chloe H 

(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

A rape and murder send Helen from her once normal life to reincarnation as Jenny in Broken Mirror, a gripping psychological thriller. There's more to this story than your average whodunit fodder; both our killer and our victim are psychologically interesting cases, and the circumstances surrounding each of their fates are ones you won't believe.

Wheelan is a particularly curious case, and fits none of the classic killer stereotypes. He's not a purely cold and calculating machine. He's not a babbling lunatic with insane bloodlust. And he's not an otherwise innocent man who made a technically illegal mistake for the right reasons. Wheelan is closest to a real killer in that his spirit and intent possess a gray area, a moving target. He is evolving, and his karmic retribution may catch up to him anyway.

Highly recommended for those who enjoy a psychological thriller with some thoughts about how the "beyond" might work.


A well written, compelling and tense thriller, 15 Aug 2014

By Virtuadmin

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

The book starts with a visceral and compelling description of a terrified woman (Helen) giving birth alone and is a great indicator of what will follow in the remaining pages. From there on you are taken on a compelling journey into the lives of the protagonist..the brutal murder of Helen and her rebirth as Jenny. This is a tense psychological thriller that combines a great story with emotive and insightful glimpses into what drives the people and the impacts events have upon them. I particularly liked how as much time is given into exploring the character of the Rev Wheelan as is given to Jenny, it is a refreshing change that the murderer is not just a standard black and white, cliched bit player. The writing is crisp and carries the reader along with a growing and genuine fondness for the characters. The book is paced perfectly, not to slow so the reader loses interest, and neither is it too fast to fully appreciate the growing development in both plot and protagonists. I cannot recommend this book highly enough, it is pleasure to find a real talent hidden away in the Amazon library and I can only hope that the author will put pen to paper again in the future.


4.0 out of 5 stars Fear, 17 Aug 2014

By Sarah Kingston (Paris, France) 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

The concept of the two lives being in synchronicity of each other was excellent. He is masterful at his descriptive language. The reader has a visual sense of the visceral Mr Wheelan. In the first part of the story the reader feels the the emotion of what evolves in the story. In the second part you must discover it yourself.


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in thrills!, 17 Aug 2014

By Graham

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

This is one of those novels that starts off with a bang, and maintains that kind of fast pace throughout. Mixing metaphysical elements with a straight up tale of revenge and murder, this book stood out from the other books I've started (but never finished) recently by way of its crisp prose and original twist on the thriller genre. The kind of book you have to read in great chunks, so make sure you don't start reading last thing at night before a busy day, like I did. You will lose sleep, in more ways than one.


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read., 16 Aug 2014

By Stacy Litz 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Paperback)

I could not stop reading this -- took it to the beach with me and I got burned sitting out and reading it until completion! I love psychological thrillers and I feel like I have watched just about everyone in movie form. My favorite character has to be Wheelan who is very maticulous and yet you cannot read him at all. I hope to read more from this author as I love the writing style as well. I also love that this book is not all 100% "reality" and there is a reincarnated murder victim as one of the main characters. Sometimes you need to use a little imagination. Two thumbs up and like I said, I hope to read more from this author!


5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling multi-dimensional read, 2 Aug 2014

By Sky Nealon (UK) 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

A thriller of a book that has you on the edge of the seat, right from the very first page in the prologue, where the author already has you immersed in the scene that is richly described.

The complex characters such as Jenny the ICU nurse who falls for a surgeon during her first scrub in at a new hospital, to the freakishly disturbing Reverend Wheelan, whose life is taunted with blackmail from a ex-friend who then ends up in the same ICU department because of his phone call, will no doubt leave the reader wondering what happens next.

Especially when the killer is skeptical that someone might have witnessed his attempt to murder his blackmailer, the only person to also know about his dark secret. Sometimes being at the wrong place and wrong time can be deadly, but life may unexpectedly have something different in mind.

Overall, the author has done a splendid job of capturing the readers attention with this rather intriguing story, whilst delivering a satisfyingly thrilling and thoughtful read.


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 10 Aug 2014

By Abi "abigailsbooks" 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

It's so nice to have a fresh plot that gives food for thought. What a great read. I can't wait to see what this author releases next. Highly recommended!


5.0 out of 5 stars

SUPERB read for those who enjoy psychological thrillers!, 31 July 2014 By DarkAngelz

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

Oh this is spooky! Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller is gripping right from the beginning, the detail in this thriller book is truly amazing that engages the reader that you just can't put it down! The characters are complex and well detailed... the story spooked me lol

Well done Oliver Rixon a SUPERB read for those who enjoy psychological thrillers!


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent psychological thriller that has a great story with crisp ..., 22 Aug 2014

By David H. 

This review is from: Broken Mirror: A psychological thriller (Kindle Edition)

Starting with a full and engrossing description of a terrified, lonely woman going through the final traumatic stages of life, birth and death, you then learn in tandem the backgrounds of the story's two main characters (in such detail that you really get inside them - and they, inside you!).

An excellent psychological thriller that has a great story with crisp writing throughout and leads to an open-ended conclusion, allowing for a much-anticipated sequel. I highly recommend this book if, like me, you prefer character-driven tales that make you double-check the locks on your doors and windows before you retire for the night.


Mrs. Philippa Kay Thomas

5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved it! 28 April 2015

This review is from: Broken Mind: A psychological thriller

Read this straight after Broken Mirror - fantastic. Easy to read yet very cleaver plot. Absolutely loved it. Please hurry up and write another!


Claudia

5.0 out of 5 starsFantastic! Even better than the first!

28 November 2014

This review is from: Broken Mind: A psychological thriller

Another fantastic read! This was long awaited, after reading the Broken Mirror I was hooked, and couldn't wait for the next one. Oliver Rixon has a way of transporting the reader straight inside the book, and I always feel so en captured by the strong emotions experience by the characters (such as Jenny Barrett!), that I just can't put the book down.

This book continues on from the first one perfectly, yet brings new twists and turns, surprises and revenge with it as Reverend Lucas Wheelan is back on the loose causing destruction and darkness around him.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book (I read it in 1 night!), actually more so than anticipated, as the story just gets better, and it's honestly a page-turner! It is written so carefully, and Rixon really does know how to get the reader on the edge of their seat. It is cleverly put together, and the build up of suspense is amazing. I would definitely recommend this to anyone, who wants an action packed, clenching read filled with emotion, drama, suspense and surprises.


sarah m

5.0 out of 5 starsAnother great thriller!

24 November 2014 

This review is from: Broken Mind: A psychological thriller

I really enjoyed the bold, and unique style of storytelling in Broken Mirror, so I was pleased to see a sequel so soon. Once again, Oliver Rixon masterfully pulls the reader into the story right away with an intensity that is maintained throughout the book. The Reverend is back again, with an interesting complexity added to his personality through his relationship with Mary. But don't be fooled, he's as menacing as ever, and definitely a character that I "love to hate" as I'm reading. The other characters in the story were well developed too.

Mary surprised me the most out of all the characters. I won't reveal why, but she's not the timid housekeeper you may expect! I really felt like I could relate to Jenny the way she worked so hard to balance her work and family time. She is a natural heroine with such a likable personality and empathy for everyone. I was rooting for the whole way!

I highly recommend this book if you enjoy psychological thrillers and don't mind a bit of violence. I will be looking forward to more from this author!


Renee

5.0 out of 5 stars. Perfect Sequel-Doesn't Get Much Better Than This!

26 November 2014

This review is from: Broken Mind: A psychological thriller

Reverend Lucas Wheelan is still causing devastation and heartbreak wherever he goes. His twisted mind and twisted desires have not lessened-they are getting worse. The little self-control he had before seems to be slipping away.

Jenny Barrett is more determined than ever to put a stop to Wheelan. Revenge can be a nasty business, and she will stop at nothing to see this through, but can she manage to find the balance between revenge and family? Can she keep them protected from this madman? Will she be able to pull this off? Or will he find a way to destroy her before she can destroy him?

There are times when the sequel doesn't quite live up to expectations. Thankfully, this is not one of those times! Oliver Rixon more than delivers with Broken Mind. It may even be better than Broken Mirror-and that is saying something!!

Broken Mind continues the journey the characters started in Broken Mirror seamlessly. As good as the writing was in the first book (and it was pretty awesome), the writing in this book was even better. Rixon creates his world perfectly and knows exactly how to make you feel like you are in the middle of everything. You feel like you are standing beside the characters and experiencing everything with them. The opening paragraph is all you need to be sucked into the story, and every paragraph after keeps you just as invested. The twists and turns keep you guessing, and Rixon makes you think about things in a different way. He also manages to take the revenge storyline to a different level and write it in a way that is completely different than what we are used to.

We get to learn more about the characters we loved (or loved to hate) in this book. Rixon lets us see into their souls; learn their desires and what makes them tick. We get to see how far they would really go to get what they want. The complexities that Rixon puts in his characters makes them more human and real. As evil as Lucas Wheelan is, there is more to him and his story than just the twisted things he does. Jenny is determined to see the end of Wheelan, but at the same time she still has a job and family and friends. Oliver Rixon handles all of this perfectly, and makes you see them as human beings instead of just words on a page or characters in a book.

Every page of this book is a journey. Every page is a revelation. Broken Mind is the perfect sequel to Broken Mirror, and Oliver Rixon is a master of his craft. Nothing is exactly how it seems, and Rixon keeps you guessing. Drama, revenge, suspense, the afterlife; this book has all of that and so much more. It is a book you have to read to believe, and I highly recommend you do. If you have read Broken Mirror you will love this, and is you haven't read it you should start now! I can't wait to see what Rixon does next-I'm sure he will once again blow our minds.


Josh Thomas

5.0 out of 5 starsAwesome Sequel

24 November 2014 

This review is from: Broken Mind: A psychological thriller

Broken Mind, sequel to Broken Mirror, is a much broader step into the twisted territories of such original literary possibilities as we continue to follow the conflicted relationship between Lucas Wilhelm and Helen, reincarnated as Jenny Barrett after her murder. Not only is this extraordinary story element very different and bends the possibilities of the afterlife in the world Oliver Rixon has set up, this element leads to very existential concepts and dark encounters full of confusion and dread - something that reminds me of a good Clive Barker horror. It is impossible to expect the safe route with this series of books. Reading this book, you fill up with anticipation for Jenny, hoping she gets her revenge, but so much more plays into that somewhat common plot of revenge with unique twist. When spiritual and outer body elements start falling into place, expect the amazing, because you'll definitely be blown away by how wild this story can be, but still hold itself together well enough to be an enjoyable, understandable read.


Chrissy V

3.0 out of 5 starsI liked it

31 August 2016 

This review is from: Broken Mind: A psychological thriller

SPOILERS♢♢♢♢SPOILERS□□□□□SPOILERS●●●●●●●●SPOILERS

(I haven't read book 1)

Broken Mind revolves around the lives (and former lives) of Murderous Reverend Sociopath Wheelan and Jenny (the former Helen) kindly nurse with a near-death experience, a surgeon for a husband, a daughter and a plethora of canine pets.

Reverend Sociopath is very ill. Jenny realises that Reverend S W raped and murdered her in a former life. Nurse J decides to give him miracle drug to put his cancer into remission so that he can live with his guilt and fear of being hell-bound instead of dying and experiencing the afterlife as love and light for all. That's her revenge.

It is a satisfying read. The characters are interesting enough to keep you going. I just really couldn't get into the "cycles of life, former lives, connected souls, light beings, blissful ecstasy" stuff. Those parts are just a bit... meh


Casara

5.0 out of 5 stars. Flawless. Just flawless.

23 November 2014 

This review is from: Broken Mind: A psychological thriller

Once again, we follow a storyline as well filled out as the characters we meet. Oliver Rixon is a talented author and this sequel fully supports me. Usually, sequels cannot even measure up to the grand-nature of the first book, but Broken Mind is an exception. The setting is still realistic and believable. The characters are more than believable. It's as if they're real human beings interacting in real life. Their personalities fully complement not only themselves but also eachother. While the characters and details are great, he entire storyline is twice that. I'm really in love with this sequel. Definitely going to re-read both of these books in the future and I recommend you do too. If you loved the first book and all its twisted mystery, you'll enjoy this one too. It has the same aura and read as the previous but is refreshed with a new idea that is looking into the mind of a killer.